January 08, 2005

The awards committee for the 9th Annual International Hispanic Awards announced the recipients of the prestigious “Sol Azteca” (“Aztec Sun”) award for their February 19th, 2005 event scheduled for the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort. The award recipients are nominated by community service organizations, sponsors, students and community members.

This year’s awardees, as in past years, will reflect the community as a whole. These are individuals who often times inspire quietly and contribute to the Hispanic community generously with their time and knowledge. They will join the ranks of other exemplary community leaders and service providers who have been honored before them. Together, the 2005 recipients represent over 475 years of community service.

"The International Hispanic Awards is considered by many to be the ‘cultural bridge’ between the diversified population of the United States, most especially in the Latino-dominated areas of the South West and Florida,” said Al Vasquez, co-founder of the International Hispanic Awards, the International Hispanic Film Festival of Palm Springs, California, Hispanic Image Marketing Network and the newspaper La Prensa Hispana.

The International Hispanic Awards is honored to have the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Time-Warner Cable, Guaranty Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, Senator Jim Battin, Assemblywoman Bonnie Garcia, Desert Regional Medical Center, Holiday Inn express and Hispanic Image Marketing Network as the sponsors for the 9th annual event, Vasquez said. The Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Time-Warner Cable and Jim Battin are founding sponsors that have sponsored the event for nine years.

The following individuals are being honored with the Sol Azteca award: George Arraya, Desert Sands Unified School District; Araceli Ayala, Centro Esperanza, Palm Desert; Jim Battin, California State Senator; Maestro Edwin R. Benachowski and Marilyn Benachowski, Indian Wells Desert Symphony; Joseph Abelardo Daily, Deputy Riverside County District Attorney; Darlene Dolan, Coachella Valley Arts Alliance; Cynthia Flores, Assistant Dean, Cal State San Bernardino; Juan Carlos Frey, Actor/Director; Henry Guerrero, California Highway Patrolman; Enrique Jacome, M.D.; Elvira Murillo, Coachella Institute for Vocational Independent Living; Rose Tijerina Swearingen, Life’s Journey Center; Leo Cesar Marcus, International Journalist; George Williams, Attorney; John Mealey, Coachella Valley Housing Coalition.

The following organizations are also being honored: Elmer’s Restaurant, Indio; Hispanic Digital Network, Miami, Florida; and Time Warner Cable, Desert Cities Division. "The International Hispanic Awards committee is especially proud of having selected Hispanic Digital Network to be a recipient of this year’s Sol Azteca,” Vasquez said. “The graphic image for this year’s event is the Aztec symbol ‘Ollin’, which was used by the Aztecs to symbolize ‘advancement.’ Hispanic Digital Network truly represents "advancement" of opportunities for Hispanic/Latino newsprint medias across the United States."

The entertainment for the evening will be the distinguished guitarist Anthony Arizaga who will perform songs featured in his “Guitarra Del Sol”, “Viva La Guitarra” and The Anthony Arizaga “Latin Romance” Collection CD’s. Mr. Arizaga is in huge demand and we are very pleased to have him honor us with his presentation. The lively, colorful and vibrant duo Los Galantes will also perform selections from their CD during the event.

Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.