December 09, 2001

Starting Monday, Jan. 7, "¡Buenos Días País!", a daily, interactive variety program makes its national debut from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. ET/ 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. CT/ 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. PT. Hosted by Hugo "El Gordo" Cadelago, ¡Buenos Días País! will feature news, daily topic discussions, comedy segments, celebrity gossip and interviews.

Commenting on the announcement, Radio Unica CEO and Chairman, Joaquin F. Blaya, called the midday program change, "an exciting development."

"No other network, whether television or radio, offers listeners and advertisers the breadth and diversity of the stars who host Radio Unica's programs," said Blaya. "I have no doubt 'El Gordo' will be a success in morning drive. He has a long and distinguished track record in Spanish-language radio, and his voice is one with which our listeners identify and enjoy."

The network also announced that its current midday show host, Pedro Sevcec, will be leaving Radio Unica to focus solely on his television efforts.

"Pedro has become quite busy on television and has not been able to devote much time to his family," said Carolina Fernandez, executive programming producer. "Pedro is, and will always be, a close personal friend of Radio Unica. We wish him well."

"¡Buenos Días País!" will also feature extensive news coverage with Radio Unica's News Director and veteran television reporter Ricardo Brown. Brown will be supported by a team of seasoned correspondents from across the country and around the world. The program will also feature a bi-weekly sex education segment by Dr. Nancy Alvarez, health capsules by Dr. Aliza A. Lifshitz every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and a juicy celebrity segment by national TV gossip commentator Mauricio Zeilic.

Preceding "¡Buenos Días País!" will be Radio Unica's recently launched morning show, "Arriba con Paul." Hosted by Paul Bouche, this spirited, interactive program helps Unica listeners start their day with plenty of wit, lively topics, laughter, music, celebrity interviews and entertaining segments, such as "Operación Jajá", "Dímelo Rimando" and "Si Lo Sabe, Cante." Paul's co-host and sidekick is Leticia Coo. The show airs Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ET/ 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. CT/ 3:00 a.m. to 7:00 a.m. PT.

Radio Unica's highly popular, live, call-in, talk show, "Dra. Isabel", will also be extending its Monday through Friday time slot from three hours to four. The show will now air 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET/ 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. CT/ 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. PT. "Unica en Deportes" will air Monday through Friday, 6:00 to 11:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 to 10:00 p.m. CT/ 3:00 to 8:00 p.m. PT. " Esta noche en Unica" with Olga Palmer, will air Monday through Friday, 11:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. ET/ 10:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. CT/ 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. PT.

Leave a reply

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.