February 16, 2018

Champion teams from across North America, Central America and the Caribbean will showcase the region’s best club soccer beginning February 20, 2018, in the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League tournament. Soccer analysts at Univision Deportes, the multimedia sports division of Univision Communications Inc. (UCI) that includes UDN will bring soccer fans exclusive live coverage and analysis across UCI’s

“Univision Deportes is proud to partner with CONCACAF to bring fanáticos the best soccer teams and players from our region across all our platforms. With the new Champions League format, fans will enjoy epic matches, regional rivalries and the world-class coverage they have come to expect from us,” said Univision Deportes President Juan Carlos Rodriguez.

As the top-flight regional club soccer competition, it will provide plenty of heart-stopping soccer action, while the enthusiasm of cross-cultural fanáticos will surely hit fever-pitch as club loyalties combine with national pride. This year’s new knockout format, in which winning teams advance and the defeated go home, will raise the excitement level even higher. Four teams from the U.S., one from Canada, four from Mexico, six from Central America and one from the Caribbean, will compete to represent CONCACAF at the 2018 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

Univision Deportes will broadcast the games on UDN, Univision Deportes Radio, and its digital platforms, featuring Univision Deportes’ stellar team of sportscasters that includes: Pavel Pardo, Enrique Bermúdez, Ivan Zamorano, Ramses Sandoval, José Luis López Salido, Diego Balado, Xavier Sol, and many others.

The first match of the two-leg, aggregate-goal round of 16 kicks off Tuesday, February 20, at 8 p.m. ET, LIVE on UDN, with Costa Rica’s CS Herediano squaring off against Mexico’s reigning champion Tigres UANL. Univision Deportes sportscasters will be on hand from Costa Rica with play-by-play analysis and commentary. The first-leg matchups will continue through Thursday, February 22. The second leg will be played from February 27 through March 1. Eight teams will advance to the quarter final round, which is set for March 6 through 14. The semifinals, April 4 through 11, will lead up to the final matchups set for April 18 and 25.

MLS teams participating in the tournament include Colorado Rapids, FC Dallas, New York Red Bulls and Seattle Sounders FC, as well as Canadian Championship winner and MLS champion, Toronto FC. Liga MX will be represented by Tigres UANL, América, Tijuana and Chivas de Guadalajara. Teams from Central America and the Caribbean include Costa Rica soccer clubs CS Herediano and Deportivo Saprissa, Honduras soccer clubs Motagua and Olimpia, Panama’s Tauro FC, Dominican Republic’s Cibao FC, and El Salvador’s Santa Tecla FC.


Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.