Businesswoman Ana Pacheco will receive a Governor’s Award as an Outstanding New Mexico Woman from New Mexico’s Bill Richardson at a gala dinner on May 7th in Albuquerque. Ms. Pacheco is being recognized for her decade-long efforts to preserve Hispanic history and culture through her quarterly publication, La Herencia (“The Heritage”). On May 18th, she will receive an additional award from PEN New Mexico, the state affiliate of the largest international professional association of writers, editors, and translators, at its annual dinner in Santa Fe.

When local radio stations air call-in shows, especially of the sports talk variety, it is expected that the content of these shows will be, shall we say, less than savory. Listeners beware - the views you hear may not be those of the station, its owners, or anyone but those speaking.

Linda De Jesus-Cutler, President of The Bravo Group has been named as one of Crain's New York Business annual "40 under 40" rising stars.

The Multicultural Communications Section of the 20,000-member Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) awarded this year's D. Parke Gibson Pioneer Award to Rosanna M. Fiske, APR, president, Communiqué Group, and past president of PRSA Miami.

Daisy Expósito-Ulla, Chairman & CEO, The Bravo Group, was presented with the 2002 Award of Excellence from The International Center in New York .

Civil rights and farm labor leader Cesar E. Chavez was highlighted when the United States Postal Service unveiled the Cesar E. Chavez commemorative postage stamp at the Upper Senate Park of the United States Capitol.

The 37-cent stamp will be issued in April 2003.

During its Annual Conference in Miami Beach, Florida, the National Council of La Raza (NCLR) launched the "Empowering An American Community Campaign," an historic fundraising initiative that will enable NCLR to make a major difference in the lives of Hispanic Americans as they strive to achieve t

Lourdes Sanchez passed away on July 22nd after a lengthy illness.

She was the Southeast Regional Sales Manager for Spanish Media Rep Team, a group of radio and television stations in Los Angeles and Houston owned by the Liebermans.

Sonja Mazón Rubalcava, Director of Strategic Planning at Arvizu Advertising and Promotions was recognized with the Hispanic Leadership Institute Public Service Award at the Hispanic Leadership Institute's Graduation and 15th Year Anniversary.

A Cuban-American couple from Miami - she, a teacher; he, an attorney - who volunteer countless hours a month to bringing relief to the forgotten children of the Dominican Republic's infrahuman orphanages.

Housing and Urban Development Secretary Mel Martinez announced Frank R. Jimenez will become the Department's new Chief of Staff effective June 10, 2002. Jimenez will help to manage more than 9,000 employees and a $30 billion budget.

The Foundation of AWRT, the philanthropic arm of American Women in Radio and Television (AWRT) has launched AWRT Empowering America, an inspiring series of 60 second Radio Public Service Announcements (PSA) that honor some of America’s greatest women and spotlight their historical contributions.

The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) and the Chairman of its Board, Jose Villarreal, announced the election of nine new members to the NCLR Board. The Board is a 32-member group made up of representatives of community-based organizations, the corporate sector, academia, and elected officials.

MALDEF (the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund) announced that Joseph A. Stern has been elected its new Board Chair.