2013 NBA Noche Latina.

The National Basketball Association (NBA) announced this season’s Noche Latina (Latin Night) program of 15 games, six of which will air on national television on ABC, TNT, ESPN, ESPN Deportes, and NBA TV. These commemorative games celebrate the growing support of NBA fans and players across Latin American and U.S. Hispanic communities and feature special telecasts and in-arena festivities, including distinctive NBA team uniforms.

This year, Noche Latina celebrations will begin on March 2 and take place in Los Angeles (Lakers), Miami (Heat), Orlando (Magic), Phoenix (Suns), San Antonio (Spurs), Chicago (Bulls), and New York (Knicks).

“The Noche Latina program is the perfect example of the NBA’s ongoing commitment to celebrate diversity as part of the fabric of our game,” said NBA Vice President of Multicultural Marketing Saskia Sorrosa. “This month long celebration will bring the excitement of the NBA to Hispanic fans in ways that are culturally relevant.”

To further honor Hispanic fans and players during Noche Latina games, participating teams will host in-arena Latin-themed activities including musical performances and giveaways. As the league’s marquee program under the éneobéoa platform, Noche Latina events will also be supported with television and radio advertising on both English- and Spanish-language media across the country as well as on the league’s Spanish-language Web site, enebea.com, and social media pages.

Launched during the 2006-07 NBA season, Noche Latina features adidas-designed uniforms that display team names as spoken by the bicultural, bilingual Latino population and Spanish-language TV and radio announcers. The Miami Heat, for example, is “El Heat,” and the San Antonio Spurs are referred to as “Los Spurs.”

Skip to content