Aventura is Biggest Winner of Premio Lo Nuestro 2010.

Featuring the largest number of musical performances and awards given in one night, the 22nd edition of “Premio Lo Nuestro a la Música Latina®” Awards, held at Miami’s American Airlines Arena and broadcast live and in high definition (HD) on the Univision Network, was an unforgettable evening overflowing with talent and spectacular productions. Making history for the second consecutive year, the kings of bachata Aventura were the biggest winner of the night, taking awards in all of the five categories for which it was nominated, including this year’s new top award “Entertainer of the Year.” Puerto Rican artist Luis Fonsi also received numerous awards, including “Male Artist of the Year,” Pop Genre for the second consecutive year, as well as the additional new award “Collaboration of the Year” for his hit “Aquí Estoy Yo” which he recorded alongside David Bisbal, Aleks Syntek and Noel Scharjis. Mexican singer/songwriter Espinoza Paz took home three awards, including “Banda Artist of the Year,” “Male Artist of the Year” and “Song of the Year” in the Regional Mexican Genre.

Pop group La Quinta Estación, salsa singer Luis Enrique and reggaetón star duo Wisin y Yandel also took home multiple awards in their respective music genres.

One of the greatest nights in Latin music came alive with a spectacular three-stage opening performance featuring Chayanne, Thalía and Alejandro Fernández who sang some of their most recent hits as well as long time favorites. Later in the show, Alejandro Fernández and Chayanne took the stage a second time to perform their latest respective hits “Se Me Va La Voz” and “Me Enamoré de Ti,” theme song of Univision’s upcoming novela “Corazón Salvaje” (Wild Heart).

Reggeatón king Daddy Yankee surprised everyone with one of the biggest productions of the night set against a virtual, futuristic backdrop that included a special lightning effect for the live, blowout premiere of his latest single “Descontrol;” while bachata group Aventura mesmerized the audience as they flew through the arena on top of a bridge for their medley performance of “Su Veneno” and the live premiere of “Dile al Amor.” Pop diva Paulina Rubio performed an exclusive remix of her most recent hit “Ni Rosas Ni Juguetes,” which was broadcast with a special black and white effect, only seen by viewers at home, resembling an old wild-west movie; and the crowd sang along when Héctor “El Torito” Acosta performed the international hit “Sin Perdón” with Colombian duo Jorge Celedón and Jimmy Zambrano together for the first time ever. One of the evening’s lighthearted moments came when the iconic Regional Mexican music singer Paquita la Del Barrio sang her all-time hit “Rata de Dos Patas” while acknowledging the presence of novela heartthrob William Levy and singer Espinoza Paz.

Additional highlights include Nelly Furtado’s crossover performance of “Manos al Aire,” pop artist Pee Wee’s performance of a special mix of his hit “Quédate” created exclusively for “Premio Lo Nuestro;” Jenni Rivera’s performance of “Ya Lo Sé;” the live debut of Tito “El Bambino’s” new single “Te Pido Perdón,” and a fantastic closing number by Puerto Rican merengue group Grupo Manía which brought the audience to its feet.

The night’s most memorable moments came when it was time to recognize the outstanding music careers of three exemplary artists who received special awards. International superstar Chayanne was honored with the “Artistic Excellence Award” by none other than the beloved Univision personality Mario Kreutzberger (Don Francisco); multiplatinum recording artist Alejandro Fernández was presented with this year’s “Career Achievement Award” by “El Gordo y la Flaca’s” (The Scoop and the Skinny) Lili Estefan; and award-winning singer and actress Thalía received the “Young Artist Legacy Award” from music icon Gloria Estefan.

The awards gala was hosted by international artist Ana Bárbara and salsa music singer Víctor Manuelle.

For the first time ever in the show’s 22-year history, four awards were bestowed right on the star-studded red carpet pre-show which was hosted by Univision personalities Bárbara Bermudo and Giselle Blondet. The winning artists included La Quinta Estación who won the “Group or Duo of the Year” category, La Secta All Star, winners for “Album of the Year” for “Fuego,” Carlos y Alejandra for “New Soloist or Group of the Year – Tropical Genre” award and salsa singer Luis Enrique winner of “Tropical Salsa Artist of the Year.”

Univision.com has been the exclusive digital destination of this year’s “Premio Lo Nuestro.” Fans are now coming to www.premiolonuestro.com to vote for their red carpet favorites, access exclusive video highlights and artist interviews, and comment on the night. Red carpet voting will continue until 12pm ET on Monday the 22nd, and the results will be announced the same day both online and live on “El Gordo y La Flaca.” In-depth winner profiles, thousands of behind-the-scenes photos, and the latest on the best performances of the night will keep fans coming back to the online and mobile websites. The excitement also continues as fans view exclusive mobile videos from the show on the Univision’s Video Application, available on most Smartphones.


Album of the Year: “Sin Frenos,” La Quinta Estación

Male Artist of the Year: Luís Fonsi

New Soloist or Group of the Year: Nelly Furtado

Female Artist of the Year: Laura Pausini

Group or Duo of the Year: La Quinta Estación

Song of the Year: “Aquí Estoy Yo,” Luis Fonsi, Aleks Syntek Noel Sharjis and David Bisbal


Album of the Year: “Fuego,” La Secta All Star

Artist of the Year: Juanes

Song of the Year: “Háblame,” Beto Cuevas


Album of the Year: “The Last,” Aventura

Male Artist of the Year: Luis Enrique

Female Artist of the Year: Melina León

Group or Duo of the Year: Aventura

New Soloist or Group of the Year: Carlos y Alejandra

Song of the Year: “Por Un Segundo,” Aventura

Tropical Merengue Artist of the Year: Juan Luis Guerra

Tropical Salsa Artist of the Year: Luis Enrique

Traditional Tropical Artist of the Year: Aventura


Album of the Year: “Te Presumo,” Banda el Recodo

Male Artist of the Year: Espinosa Paz

Female Artist of the Year: Jenni Rivera

Group or Duo of the Year: La Arrolladora Banda el Limón

Song of the Year: “Lo Intentamos,” Espinoza Paz

Banda Artist of the Year: Espinoza Paz

Grupero Artist of the Year: Marco Antonio Solís

Norteño Artist of the Year: Intocable

Ranchero Artist of the Year: Vicente Fernández

Duranguense Artist of the Year: Alacranes Musical


Album of the Year: “Wisin y Yandel Presentan DJ Nesty La Mente Maestra,” Wisin y Yandel

Artist of the Year: Wisin y Yandel

Song of the Year: “El Amor,” Tito “El Bambino”

New Artist of the Year: Makano


Video: “Loba,” Shakira


Entertainer of the Year: Aventura

Collaboration of the Year: “Aquí Estoy Yo,” Luis Fonsi, Aleks Syntek, David Bisbal and Noel Scharjis

Skip to content
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap