Discovery Familia premiere ‘WordWorld’.

Discovery Familia enters the fascinating universe of words with WordWorld, an innovative series that introduces young viewers to the English language and reading skills and sets the groundwork for a bilingual generation. WordWorld premieres on August 6 at 3pm ET/12pm PT and will air Monday through Friday in the same time slot.

Using advanced technology, colorful images and a dynamic storyline, the animated series WordWorld stimulates a love for words and reading. The friendly animal cast presents a marvelous world full of adventure and situations centered on characters and objects made of letters spelling out their names in English. The technique exposes children not only to English words and sounds, but also to the concept that letters form words representing real-world objects.

The winner of three Emmy awards, WordWorld was originally created by Don Moody to motivate English-speaking children to become interested in words as a prelude to a love of reading. With the collaboration of Monica Fuhrken, an educational consultant and expert in teaching English, Discovery Familia gives the series a new twist by dubbing some parts of the narrative into Spanish and leaving others in English. In this way, the show not only familiarizes children with the world of words, but also sets and reinforces the basis for the bilingual skills so common among Hispanics who live in the United States.

To add even more fun to the mix, the network also brings audiences the next season of the hit series Hi-5, premiering August 6 at 7pm ET/4pm PT and continuing to air Monday through Friday. The popular show offers a world of learning based on music, movement, storytelling and language. In each episode, hosts Casey, Fely, Lauren, Stevie and Tim invite children to join them in a fun, positive space to discover the world around them.

Skip to content
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap