MTV LatAM Nominees For 1st MTV Video Music Awards.

MTV Networks Latin America announced the nominees for the first annual “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America.” Tied with five nominations each are Colombians Juanes, Shakira and Diego Torres from Argentina, followed by Mexican Band Kinky, Chilean band La Ley and Mexican Paulina Rubio, with four nominations. In addition, it was announced that Argentine TV and radio personality Mario Pergolini and Mexican actor Diego Luna will host and Mana, Shakira and System Of A Down will perform. The star-studded event will broadcast live from Miami Beach’s Jackie Gleason Theater on Thursday, October 24, 2002 at 9:00PM ET (8:00 PM Mexico, 9:00 PM, Chile and 10:00 PM Argentina). Additional performers and presenters to be
announced shortly.

Nomination ballots for the “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America” were sent to a “Music and Video Academy” comprised of music industry professionals and MTV viewers who determined the nominees for 17 categories. Ballots were cast via internet.

The winner for each category will be chosen by fans who will cast their vote exclusively online at MTV Latin America’s website http://www.mtvla.com between September 7th and October 7th 2002. Harris Interactive, a worldwide internet
market research and consulting firm, acting as a private auditor will tabulate the results for the “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America.” Charlie Singer will executive produce. Audrey Morrissey (a veteran of many MTV productions and award shows, and producer of “Alejandro Sanz MTV Unplugged,” “La Ley MTV Unplugged”) will serve as producer; and Manny Rodriguez (“Alejandro Sanz MTV Unplugged,” “La Ley MTV Unplugged”) will direct.

Following are all the categories and the nominees for the “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America” listed alphabetically within each category.

MTV VIDEO MUSIC AWARDS LATIN AMERICA NOMINEES

Following is a tally of nominations by artist:
Juanes -5
Shakira -5
Diego Torres -5
La Ley -4
Paulina Rubio -4
Babasonicos -3
Catupecu Machu -3
Enrique Iglesias -3
Kinky -4
Alejandro Sanz -3
Los Bunkers -2
Gustavo Cerati -2
Ely Guerra -2
Nelly Furtado -2
Avril Lavigne -2
Linkin Park -2
Celso Pina -2
System of a Down -2

To view complete charts CLICK above on ‘More Images’.

Skip to content
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap