Shakira & La Ley Triumph @ The 2002 MTV LatAM Video Music Awards.

Colombian artist Shakira and Chilean band La Ley triumphed at the first ever MTV Video Music Awards Latin America (VMALA), broadcast LIVE on MTV Latin America, and on MTV2 in the United States. Shakira swept the floor, winning 5 awards including “Best Artist of the Year,” while La Ley won 2 awards, including “Best Group or Duo of the Year”; winners were picked by votes cast by MTV viewers across Latin America. The show opened with legendary rockers The Rolling Stones setting the tone for a night of rock, surprises, and music from across the continents. Over the next few weeks the show will air across MTV’s global network of channels in Europe, channels in Asia, Australia, Brazil, the US, Russia, Canada, and Japan, and will also be aired on select broadcasters throughout Latin America. In total, the show will air to over 410 million households around the world, with a potential viewing audience of over 1 billion people.

The glittering Spanish language ceremony was the first pan regional music event created especially for young Latin Americans, and featured a diverse line up of artists from across the region, and North America. Hosted by Mario
Pergolini and Diego Luna, the event featured 17 separate awards, and included ground-breaking live performances and collaborations, mixing the very best of Latin American talent in an unprecedented celebration of music and diversity
from across the region.

The winners of the MTV Video Music Awards Latin America 2002 are:

Artist of the Year: – Shakira
Video of the Year: – Shakira
Best Artist -North: – Shakira
Best New Artist – North: – Sin Bandera
Best Artist – Southeast – Diego Torres
Best New Artist – Southeast: – Bandana
Best Artist – Southwest: – Libido
Best New Artist – Southwest: – DJ Mendez
Best New Artist – International: – Avril Lavigne
Best Rock Artist – International: – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Best Pop Artist – International: – Pink
Best Alternative Artist of the Year: – Manu Chao
Best Rock Artist of the Year: – La Ley
Best Pop Artist of the Year: – Shakira
Best Female Artist of the Year: – Shakira
Best Male Artist of the Year: – Juanes
Best Group or Duo of the Year: – La Ley
Lifetime Achievement Award: – Soda Stereo

Highlights of the VMALA 2002 included surprise duets featuring Molotov and Juanes singing “Mala Gente,” and Cafe Tacuba joining with Argentina’s Erica Garcia, Mexico’s Ely Guerra, Chile’s Javier Parra, and original Los Tres member Alvaro Henriquez in a stirring rendition of the Los Tres classic ‘Olor A Gas’. Legendary rocker Santana joined with new sensation Michele Branch for the shows first live act, performing “The Game Of Love,” while Kinky and Paulina Rubio closed the show coming together to sing classic hard rock band, KISS’ “I Was Made For Loving You”. Legendary Argentinean band Soda Stereo came together for the first time since their break up in 1997 to receive the “Lifetime Achievement Award”. MTV’s Jackasses were also around, adding humour to the evening.

Incredible performances included Mana singing “Angel de Amor,” System of a Down singing “Chop Suey,” Diego Torres singing “Color Esperanza,” Avril Lavigne singing “Complicated,” and Shakira bringing the house down with “Inevitable”.

In true MTV style, the VMALA’s award is a tongue — symbolizing the Spanish language that unites all Latins throughout the region. Following its premiere on MTV Latin America and MTV2 in the US, the MTV VMALAs will broadcast on MTV’s around the world and on select terrestrial outlets in Latin America. The MTV airings will include MTV U.S. on Friday, November 1st at 8PM ET/PT, MTV’s 10 channels in Europe and 8 channels in Asia, MTV Brazil and MTV Russia. Terrestrial outlets carrying the event include Televisa’s Canal 5 in Mexico, RCTV in Venezuela, Ecuavisa in Ecuador, Medcom in Panama, Artear in Argentina, and Teleantillas in the Dominican Republic. Charlie Singer (SVP Programming/Production, MTV Latin America) executive produced. Audrey Morrissey (“Alejandro Sanz MTV Unplugged,” “La Ley MTV Unplugged,” “Conexion MTV”) served as producer; and Manny Rodriguez (“Alejandro Sanz MTV Unplugged,” “La Ley MTV Unplugged”) directed. Sponsors for the “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America 2002” included Coca-Cola de Mexico, LG Electronics, Visa International Latin America and Caribbean, Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications and Malibu. MTV has a long history of creating exciting music events with 10 locally-produced awards shows annually, around the world; and the “MTV Video Music Awards Latin America” will make 11 award shows. Additional MTV award ceremonies include the MTV Japan Video Music Awards (Japan), MTV Asia Awards (Singapore), CCTV-MTV Mandarin Music Honors (China), MTV Mandarin Awards (Taiwan), MTV Philipinas (Philippines), MTV Penghargaan (Indonesia), MTV Europe Music Awards, Video Music Brasil Awards, MTV Movie Awards (US), MTV Video Music Awards (US). Many award shows such as the MTV Video Music Awards and the MTV Movie Awards are customized for international audiences by MTV channels around the world, offering viewers a unique local perspective to a global event.

Skip to content
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap